14 of 100 Books to Read in a Lifetime

Amazon recently released a list of 100 books to read in a lifetime, and it’s a pretty good list, I think. Here are the ones I have read:

  1. 1984 – George Orwell
  2. Dune – Frank Herbert
  3. Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
  4. Goodnight Moon – Margaret Wise Brown
  5. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J.K. Rowling
  6. Invisible Man – Ralph Ellison
  7. Man’s Search for Meaning – Viktor Frankl (read this recently)
  8. Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien (personal favorite)
  9. The Shining – Stephen King
  10. The Stranger – Albert Camus
  11. The Sun Also Rises – Ernest Hemingway
  12. The Very Hungry Caterpillar – Eric Carle
  13. Where the Sidewalk Ends – Shel Silverstien
  14. Where the Wild Things Are – Maurice Sendak

Many of these I have heard of, read parts of, or have read other works by the author, but for this list, I am only including books I have honest-to-goodness actually read.

So I score 14, and I got many good ideas to add to my list, especially a Wrinkle in Time and How to Kill a Mockingbird.

How about you? Was your favorite book on this list?

9 thoughts on “14 of 100 Books to Read in a Lifetime

  1. Where the Wild Things Are is my favorite on the list! Things Fall Apart is another great one. It’s a funny list; some of the books I’ve read on it really didn’t make an impression at all.

  2. Oo I like lists! They do give good ideas for things to read next! To kill a mockingbird is something I’ve been meaning to read forever! I also have been meaning to read the invisible man, is it good?
    My favorite in the list is Man’s search for meaning. And maybe the handmaids tale second. There are actually a lot of books on here that I’ve never even heard of but they sound interesting…

    • Yeah, I haven’t heard of a lot of them too. I want to put the Handmaid’s Tale on my list too especially since you recommended it. The Invisible Man is very good; it helps give perspective on a lot of race issues. Too bad the Bell Jar didn’t make this list, Suz! ;-P

      • Haha I know right?! I did look for it!
        I should also own up and admit that I love the catcher in the rye, so I recommend that too! For awhile I thought it was too cliche to say I liked it and I especially felt like it was silly after watching a south park episode that made fun of it buuuutt its one of the few books I’ve bothered to read more than once!

  3. Pingback: Amazon’s 100 Books to Read in a Lifetime | The Edifying Word

  4. I am now reading “Man’s Search for Meaning” which gives me over 30 books that I’ve read on this list. Of course, I’ve had twice as many years as you to read…
    I’m surprised that you read “Invisible Man” since I found it a difficult read in an English class.
    One classic novel I enjoyed that’s not on the list is “A Canticle for Leibowitz” by Walter Miller. A priest once mentioned it in his sermon; after Mass I told him my favorite quote from it:
    “A pink tongue of dawn was beginning to lick the stars from the sky.”

Leave a Reply

